With six albums, and songs like Dancing in the Backyard, Come Back To Me and not least the Supergirl, Minor Majority were one of the most influential bands in Norway in the first decade of the 2000s. Their albums were also released in most European markets, and were particularly successful in Germany and France, where the band also toured extensively.

Since 2010 Minor Majority have kept a low profile, except for an annual sold-out concert in their hometown of Oslo. 2019 marks Minor Majority`s 20 years anniversary as band and they celebrate by releasing a brand new album called “Napkin Poetry” – 10 years after the previous album release “Either Way I Think You Know.” The title of the new album suggests both something light and something heavy – something spontaneous and something that is thoughtful and ambitious.

“Napkin Poetry” contains 12 new songs that were mostly recorded live in Ocean Sound Studio on Giske first week in April, 2018. The songs are – with two exceptions – written by Pål Angelskår, while the lyrics are mainly written in two-part with Sjur Lyseid. On the new album you will find more of the catchy, well-arranged pop songs that gave Minor Majority so much radio time in the mid 2000s, but also slow-moving, grand rock songs in the same landscape as Spain and Tindersticks at their most melodic. The band themselves mention The Cardigans, The Jayhawks, Elliott Smith and Neil Young’s Crazy Horse as important inspirations. Roar Nilsen’s production is open and warm and captures the band Minor Majority more clearly than on previous releases.

Minor Majority debuted in 2001 with the album Walking Home From Nicole’s and has released six critically acclaimed albums, which together have sold more than 180,000 physical copies in Norway. In 2006, the band won Spellemann-prisen (the Norwegian Grammy) in the “best pop group” category for the album Reasons to Hang Around. The band have played over 500 concerts and toured throughout Europe.

Minor Majority are:

Pål Angelskår: Vocals, acoustic guitars
Jon Arild Nupen-Stieng: Acoustic and electric guitars, vocals

Henrik Harr Widerøe: Bass, piano, flute, vocals
Harald Sommerstad: Piano, Rhodes, Wurlitzer, Moog

Halvor Høgh Winsnes: Drums, percussion




Artist Biography by K. Ross Hoffman


Norway’s Minor Majority plays gentle, polished acoustic folk-pop with a sophisticated, sometimes country-tinged vibe. Like their similarly hushed countrymen Kings of Convenience, Sweden’s Nicolai Dunger (circa Tranquil Isolation), and Iceland’s Funerals, they manage to assimilate a distinctly American strain of rootsy melancholia into a style that only subtly hints at their Scandinavian origin. Formed in 2000 as a studio project of Pål Angelskår and Andreas Berczelly, the group has steadily gained members, acclaim, and commercial success over the course of several albums released throughout the 2000s. Singer/songwriter Karen Jo Field contributed vocals (but did not join the duo) for their 2001 debut, Walking Home from Nicole’s, and guitarist Jon Arild Stieng joined the group that fall, enabling them to tour for the first time, in spring of 2002. Berczelly left the band before If I Told You, You Were Beautiful was recorded at Stieng’s house in Oslo — but he stuck around as a producer for that and each of the band’s subsequent releases. 2003 saw the addition of keyboardist Harald Sommerstad, drummer Halvor Høgh Winsnes, and bassist Henrik Widerøe — solidifying the five-member lineup that would record their third album. Up for You and I, recorded at Sommerstad’s cabin and released in January 2004, spent 24 weeks on the Norwegian album charts, peaking at number four, going gold and garnering nominations for best Norwegian pop album that year. Reasons to Hang Around (recorded in Berczelly’s studio throughout 2005, released in January 2006) was similarly successful, reaching number two on the chart and spawning two Top 20 singles in “Come Back to Me” and “Supergirl.” The retrospective Candy Store, a two-disc set including a greatest-hits compilation and a second disc of unreleased material from throughout their career, debuted at number three in August 2007.

Minor Majority’s sixth Album, Either Way I think You Know was released in 2009 and was followed by extensive touring.

After a 6 years break, Minor Majority released a new song, “I´ve Been Here Before”. A continuation of the sound they had when they paused their professional career as Minor Majority in 2010. Four singles later, the 7th studio album “Napkin Poetry” is released January 2019.



The Norwegian pop/rock/folk band Minor Majority has from the beginning in 2001 developed from a small indie-act to become one of the bestselling artists in Norway, playing in sold-out venues all over the country. The band is a critically acclaimed live- and album artist also in France, Switzerland and Germany and has toured extensively in these territories.

With more than 12 songs listed on national radio, Minor Majority received a gold album for “Candy Store”, Reasons to hang around” and “Up for you and I”.

Minor Majority has been nominated for Norwegian Grammy “Spellemannsprisen” twice and the independent labels award “Alarm” and won “best pop group” at Spellemannsprisen 2007 for Reasons To Hang Around.
“I´ve Been Here Before” is produced by the “Grammy Award winning producer” Roar Nilsen. Mixed by Georg Tanderø (A-ha, Bjørn Eidsvåg, Jarle Bernhoft, Satyricon, Donkeyboy, Katzenjammer) and mastered by Grammy and Pensado award winning mastering engineer Brad Blackwood (Maroon 5, Lamb of God, Korn, Alison Krauss & Union Station, the Black Eyed Peas, Sara Bareilles, Sick Puppies, Thursday, Saving Abel, the North Mississippi Allstars, Sister Hazel)


To get high resolution pictures, click on picture, click “view full size” in the bottom right corner and download.



Foto: Eivind Stoud Platou/Handverk